Carlow County Council Joint Policing Committee Annual Report 2022

Following the Local Government Elections in 2019, a new Joint Policing Committee was established for County Carlow. The membership is as set out hereunder:

Membership of Joint Policing Committee (2019 - 2024)

Cathaoirleach of Carlow County Council

Cllr. Fintan Phelan followed by Cllr. Brian O'Donoghue

Municipal District of Carlow (6)

Cllr. Fintan Phelan

Cllr. Tom O'Neill

Cllr. John Cassin

Cllr. Andrea Dalton

Cllr. Ken Murnane

Cllr. Fergal Browne

Municipal District of Tullow (5)

Cllr. John McDonald

Cllr. John Murphy

Cllr. Brian O'Donoghue

Cllr. William Paton

Cllr. John Pender

Municipal District of Muinebheag (2)

Cllr. Michael Doran CHAIRPERSON OF JPC

Cllr. Arthur McDonald

Carlow County Council (2)

Mr. Michael Rainey, Interim Chief Executive

Mr. Kieran Cullinane, Acting Director of Service

Oireachtas Members

Deputy Jennifer Murnane O'Connor

Deputy Malcolm Noonan

An Garda Síochána (2)

Padraig Dunne, Chief Superintendent, An Garda Síochána Aidan Brennan, Superintendent, An Garda Síochána

Community: (6)

Anita Daly (Amber Women's Refuge PPN)

Caroline Dargan (Carlow Town Community First Responders PPN)

Michael Lyons (Carlow Town Community First Responders PPN)

Michael Nolan (PPN – Carlow Travellers Forum)

William Roche (Develop Tullow Association Clg PPN)
Martin Tuite (PPN Bagenalstown Town Parish Community Text Alert)
Anton Scheele (Carlow Womens Aid)
John Brophy (Chamber of Commerce)
Mr. Eamonn Brophy, Senior Executive Officer – Meetings Administrator

Meetings were scheduled for March 28th, July 25th and November 28th.

Meetings in March and July were held remotely due to covid 19 precautions with the November meeting held in the Council Chamber in County Buildings.

The meetings discussed the following agenda items:

- Annual Report 2021
- Garda Policing Reports
- Agree dates for 2022 meetings
- Draft Strategic Work Plan 2022 to 2028

The meetings also discussed issues such as anti-social behaviour, cybercrime and internet fraud, Garda recruitment numbers and property protection measures.

Detective Sergeant Eoin O'Connell, Garda National Cyber Crime Unit, delivered a presentation on cybercrime during the November meeting.

Members attendance records is set out hereunder:-(Three meetings were held in 2022)

Committee Member	In Attendance
Cllr. Brian O'Donoghue	2
Cllr. Fergal Browne	2
Cllr. John Cassin	1
Cllr. Andrea Dalton	3
Cllr. Ken Murnane	3
Cllr. Tom O'Neill	2
Cllr. Fintan Phelan	3
Cllr. John McDonald	2
Clir. John Murphy	3
Cllr. William Paton	2
Cllr. John Pender	3
Cllr. Michael Doran	3
Cllr. Arthur McDonald	3
Ms. Kathleen Holohan, Chief Executive	2
Mr. Michael Rainey, Interim Chief Executive	3

Mr. Kieran Cullinane, Acting Director of Service	1
Deputy Jennifer Murnane O'Connor	2
Deputy Malcolm Noonan	1
Padraig Dunne, Chief Superintendent	3
Aidan Brennan, Superintendent	3
Anita Daly (Amber Women's Refuge PPN)	0
Caroline Dargan (Carlow Town Community First Responders PPN)	3
Michael Lyons (Carlow Town Community First Responders PPN)	1
Michael Nolan (PPN – Carlow Travellers Forum)	0
William Roche (Develop Tullow Association Clg PPN)	1
Martin Tuite(PPN Bagenalstown Town Parish Community Text Alert)	2
Anton Scheele (Carlow Womens Aid)	1
John Brophy (Chamber of Commerce)	2
Mr. Eamonn Brophy Meetings Administrator	3