





Figure 1 Chairman Noel Coonan with the Garda Commissioner Drew Harris November 2019 JPC meeting





Introduction

Section 35 of An Garda Síochána Act 2005 provides for the establishment of Joint Policing Committees (JPC).

The Tipperary Joint Policing Committee was established in 2014 following the merger of North and South Tipperary County Councils and the abolition of North Tipperary JPC and South Tipperary JPC.

The Joint Policing Committee's function is to serve as a forum for consultations, discussions and recommendations on matters affecting the policing of the Local Authorities administrative area.

At a meeting on the 4th of March 2016 the Tipperary Joint Policing Committee Strategic Plan 2015-2021 was formally adopted.

Meetings 2020

Meetings are held on rotation across the five Municipal Districts within County Tipperary. There were 4 meetings of Tipperary JPC held in 2020, as follows:

3rd July
 25th September
 Council Chamber, Thurles MD, Thurles and Zoom
 Council Chamber, Clonmel Civic Offices and Zoom.

16th October Zoom
 11th December Zoom.

Presentations to the JPC 2020

In addition to strategy development work, the JPC also received presentations and considered other relevant policing matters. Table 1 lists some of the presentations to the JPC in 2020.





Presentation	Presented by	Meeting
Review levels & patterns of	Chief Superintendent Derek	3 rd of July, 16 th
crime, disorder and anti-	Smart	of October &
social behaviour in the		11 th December
county:		

Table 1 List of Presentations made to the JPC in 2020

Membership of County Tipperary Joint Policing Committee

The membership of the Tipperary Joint Policing Committee is based on the Joint Policing Committees Guidelines – Amended August 2014. Tipperary County Council has 40 elected members. It is recommended that the JPC consist of:

- 2 An Garda Síochána,
- 15 Local Authority Elected Members,
- 5 Oireachtas Elected Members,
- 7 Community
- 2 Local Authority Officials

This increased the Community Membership from 7 to 8 and the total membership from 31 to 32.

In 2020 Tipperary JPC made two changes to the membership. The IFA were allowed to put forward two representatives to the Tipperary JPC Ms. Imelda Walsh will attend the meeting hosted in the North of the County and Mr Pat Carroll will attend meetings in the South of the County. This was proposed by Cllr Marie Murphy and seconded Cllr AnneMarie Ryan

At the July 3rd 2020 meeting Tipperary JPC agreed to add an extra member to the Committee to represent migrant community. This was proposed by Cllr Pat English and seconded by Cllr Marie Murphy

Following the General Elections in Feb 2020, Deputy Seamus Healy was replaced by Deputy Martin Browne.





In March 2020 Chambers Ireland nominated Mr Paul Berrigan to Tipperary JPC he stepped down in December and was replaced by Ms Michelle Alyward (nominated by chambers Ireland). Also in March Mr Ger Fogarty joined the Tipperary JPC nominated by Tipperary PPN for the Thurles MD

Table 2 below lists the JPC members as of Dec 2020 and Appendix 1 Table 3 lists the JPC membership prior to the prior to Dec 2020.

Organisation	Name	Meeting Attended
An Garda Síochána (2)	Chief Superintendent Derek Smart Plus 1 other	3
Local Authority Elected Member (15)	Cllr AnneMarie Ryan Cllr David Dunne Cllr Fiona Bonfield Cllr Ger Darcy Cllr Hughie McGrath Cllr Jim Ryan Cllr John Crosse Cllr Marie Murphy (Vice Chair) Cllr Mark Fitzgerald	3 1 3 1 3 2 2
	Cllr Noel Coonan (Chair) Cllr Pat English Cllr Richie Molloy Cllr Shane Lee Cllr Siobhan Ambrose Cllr Tony Black	2 2 3 3 2 2 1
Oireachtas (5)	Deputy Alan Kelly Deputy Jackie Cahill Deputy Martin Browne Deputy Mattie McGrath Deputy Michael Lowry	3 1
PPN/ Community (8)	Ms Anne Williamson (PPN Carrick- on-Suir MD) Mr Ger Fogarty (PPN Thurles MD) Ms Margaret Sheehy (PPN Nenagh	2
	MD) Ms Imelda Walsh (Farming Pillar North)	3





	Mr Pat Carroll (Farming Pillar South) Ms Michelle Aylward (Business Pillar) Vacant (PPN Clonmel/Cahir MD) Vacant (PPN Migrant Community) Vacant (PPN Tipp/Cashel/Cahir MD)	1
Local	Pat Slattery Director of Services	3
Authority	Eddie Meegan, Administrative	3
Official (2)	Officer	

Table 2 Membership of Tipperary JPC Jan 2021.

(The JPC members from An Garda Síochána and Tipperary County Council may be accompanied to meetings by other Garda officers and other Council officials as deemed appropriate).

Key Achievements of Tipperary JPC in 2020

- Due to Covid 19 restrictions the March meeting was cancelled. The meetings in July, October and December where held virtually with JPC members logging in from home using Zoom cloud meeting software.
- Tipperary JPC wrote to the Minister for Justice Helen McEntee seeking advice on how to remove the delays in obtaining approval for Community based CCTV schemes from the Garda Commissioner.
- Tipperary JPC established a steering group according to Section 3 of the Standing Orders
- Tipperary JPC established a working group to review the use of Text Alert Systems in the county.
- The standing orders where updated to allow for the increase in membership from 31 to 32 to include a migrant representative.
- The JPC organised property marking training for Councillors and JPC members and this took place in Jan 2021.
- Tipperary JPC gave their support to the proposed Borrisokane Community CCTV scheme





- Presentations in relation to the review of levels and patterns of crime, disorder and anti-social behaviour in Co Tipperary were provided at all the JPC meetings and clarity in relation to key Garda Operations and policies were provided across a range of areas.
- An update feasibility study for Roscrea CCTV was commissioned by Roscrea CCTV Ltd in 2020 following endorsement by the JPC in 2019.
- Gardaí in Co Tipperary played a very active part in the Covid-19 response and participated in the community call as well as the 'Keep well' and 'In this together' campaigns.
- In 2020 a community policing unit was established in Tipperary. This is a temporary unit and Tipperary JPC support the establishment of a more permanent unit.



Tipperary County Joint Policing Committee



DRAFT Annual Report for the year 2020

Appendix 1 Joint Policing Committee Membership Prior to Dec 2020

Tipperary Joint Policing Committee - Membership at February 2020			
Gardaí	Chief Superintendent Derek Smart Plus 1 other Superintendent	2	
Oireachtas	Deputy Alan Kelly Deputy Jackie Cahill Deputy Mattie McGrath Deputy Michael Lowry Deputy Seamus Healy	5	
LA Elected Member	Cllr. Annemarie Ryan Cllr. David Dunne Cllr. Fiona Bonfield Cllr. Ger Darcy Cllr. Hughie Mc Grath Cllr. Jim Ryan Cllr. John Crosse Cllr. Marie Murphy Cllr. Mark Fitzgerald Cllr. Noel Coonan Cllr. Pat English Cllr. Richie Molloy Cllr. Shane Lee Cllr. Siobhan Ambrose Cllr. Tony Black	15	
PPN/Community	Anne Williamson (PPN Carrick-on-Suir MD) Carmel O'Neill (PPN Tipp/Cashel MD) Ger Fogarty (PPN Thurles MD) Margaret Sheehy (PPN Nenagh MD) Vacant (PPN Clonmel/Cahir MD) Imelda Walsh (Farming Pillar) NT* Pat Carroll (Farming Pillar) ST*	8	





	Paul Berrigan (Business Pillar)	
LA Official	Pat Slattery Chief Officer Eddie Meegan Administrator	2
Total		32

Table 3 Membership of the JPC prior to General Election 2020